How many votes did BJP get in 2014?

How many votes did BJP get in 2014?

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) received 31% of the vote and won 282 seats, while its National Democratic Alliance won a total of 336 seats….2014 Indian general election.

Last election 18.80%, 116 seats 28.55%, 206 seats
Seats won 282 44
Seat change 166 162
Popular vote 171,660,230 106,935,942
Percentage 31.00% 19.31%

How did BJP come to power in 2014?

In the 2014 Indian general election, the BJP won 282 seats, leading the NDA to a tally of 336 seats in the 543-seat Lok Sabha. Narendra Modi was sworn in as the 14th Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. The vote share of the BJP was 31% of all votes cast, a low figure relative to the number of seats it won.

What was the slogan of BJP in 2014 election?

The slogan “Good days are coming” was coined by Narendra Modi, BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate for the 2014 Indian general election.

How many seats did BJP win in 2019 elections?

The Bharatiya Janata Party received 37.36% of the vote, the highest vote share by a political party since the 1989 general election, and won 303 seats, further increasing its substantial majority. In addition, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 353 seats.

How many seats did BJP win in UP in 2014?

The BJP won 71 seats, a monumental increase from the 10 seats it won in LS 2009 elections. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) which formed government in UP for four times did not win a single seat in this general elections.

How many seats BJP won in UP election 2017?

This election saw a voter turnout of 61.04% compared to 59.40% in the previous election. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the election by an overwhelming three-quarters majority of 325 seats despite not projecting a chief ministerial candidate before the election.

Who is founder of BJP?

Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Lal Krishna Advani
Bharatiya Janata Party/Founders

When did Narendra Modi become PM?

Narendra Damodardas Modi (born 17 September 1950) is an Indian politician. He is the current Prime Minister of India serving since 2014. He was the 14th Chief Minister of the state of Gujarat. Modi was elected Prime Minister of India in May 2014.

Who made BJP?

How many seats did UKIP win in 2019?

UKIP stood in 42 seats in Great Britain and two seats in Northern Ireland.

Is BJP and NDA same?

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) (IAST: Rāṣṭrīya Janatāṃtrika Gaṭhabaṃdhana) is an Indian big tent political alliance led by the right-wing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). It was founded in 1998 and currently controls the government of India as well as the government of 17 Indian states, and 3 Union Territories.

How did Amit Shah win in 2014?

Shah was the BJP’s in-charge for India’s largest and politically most crucial state, Uttar Pradesh, during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP and its NDA won 73 out of 80 seats. As a result, Shah rose to national prominence and was appointed as the party’s national president in July 2014.

Is BJP taking no chances in Madhya Pradesh?

The BJP is clearly taking no chances in a state which has voted for change in every assembly election since 2007, when the Bahujan Samaj Party broke a 14-year-long coalition jinx. The state voted for the Samajwadi Party in 2012 and the BJP in 2017.

How many seats did the BJP win in 2019 general election?

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) received 31% of the vote and won 282 seats, while its National Democratic Alliance won a total of 336 seats.

Why are up elections so important for the BJP?

State elections in Uttar Pradesh have always been crucial because of its sheer size. If winning the upcoming polls is important for the BJP for the 2024 Lok Sabha election, the opposition knows they will have to stop Modi’s victory chariot now to check the BJP’s poll juggernaut.

What was the voter turnout in West Bengal in 2014 elections?

In West Bengal, the 17 constituencies that voted, saw a turnout of about 80% compared to 82% in 2009. The 2014 general elections, according to the Election Commission of India, recorded a cumulative total of 66.38% voter turnout, or 551.3 million out of 814 million eligible people casting their vote, according to provisional figures.