How many countries has English as their official language?

How many countries has English as their official language?

Learn About All The English Speaking Countries In fact, English is recognized as an official language in a total of 67 different countries, as well as 27 non-sovereign entities.

What is the official language of 53 countries?

English is the official language of 53 countries. That is a lot of people to meet and speak to.

Which Commonwealth countries speaks English?

Many regions, notably Australia, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Caribbean, have developed their own native varieties of the language.

Why English is an official language?

Official English unites Americans, who speak more than 322 languages (2000, U.S. Census), by providing a common means of communication; it encourages immigrants to learn English in order to use government services and participate in the democratic process; and it defines a much-needed common sense language policy.

Why is English still in use as an official language?

Most countries with English as an official language were British territories. As the British Empire began colonizing and expanding power in the 17th century, it brought the English language around the world. English was used in the colonies and native people were often forced to learn the language.

Is English a official language in India?

India has two national languages: English and Hindi. There are also 22 other officially recognized languages that are used by sections of the population, including Bengali, Punjabi, and Urdu. However, just because English is an official language doesn’t mean you can expect everyone you meet in the country to speak it.

What state has English as official language?

Shakeel Anwar

State Official language(s) Additional official language(s)
Meghalaya English Khasi and Garo
Mizoram Mizo, English and Hindi
Nagaland English
Odisha Odia English

Where is British English used?

British English (BrE) is a term used to distinguish the form of the English language used in the British Isles from forms used elsewhere. It includes all the varieties of English used within the Isles, including those found in England, Scotland, Wales, and the island of Ireland.

Does England have an official language?

Official native languages English is spoken across the UK, but it is not the only native official language. You may also hear: Welsh in Wales. Gaelic and Scots in Scotland.

How many official languages are there?

The Department of Global Communications has established language days for each of the UN’s six official languages. The purpose of the UN’s language days is to celebrate multilingualism and cultural diversity as well as to promote equal use of all six official languages throughout the Organization.

Which country language is English?

English is the majority native language in the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand (see Anglosphere) and the Republic of Ireland, an official language and the main language of Singapore, and it is widely spoken in some areas of the Caribbean, Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia and Oceania.

What countries have English as the official language?

English as Official Language. Anguilla. Ireland, Northern. Singapore. Antigua and Barbuda. Ireland, Republic of. Solomon Islands. Australia. Jamaica.

Where is English spoken?

English is spoken as a first or second language in most of the Commonwealth. In a few countries such as Cyprus and Malaysia, it does not have official status but is widely used as a lingua franca .

Which country has the largest English-speaking population in the Commonwealth?

India has the largest English-speaking population in the Commonwealth, although comparatively few speakers of Indian English are first-language speakers. The same is true of English spoken in other parts of South Asia, e.g. Pakistani English, Sri Lankan English, and Bangladeshi English.

How many states have made English the official language of America?

Thirty-one states have chosen to make it the official state language. English may not be the official language of the United States, but it is the most widely spoken language in the country, with Spanish as the second most common language. A global language is one that is spoken by millions of people around the globe.