Which countries are in Melanesia?

Which countries are in Melanesia?


  • Fiji.
  • New Caledonia.
  • Papua New Guinea.
  • Solomon Islands.
  • Vanuatu.

Where is Melanesia located in the world?

The great arc of islands located north and east of Australia and south of the Equator is called Melanesia (from the Greek words melas, “black,” and nēsos, “island”) for the predominantly dark-skinned peoples of New Guinea island, the Bismarck Archipelago, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu (the New Hebrides), New Caledonia, and …

Why is it called Melanesia?

Melanesia’s name was derived from the Greek melas ‘black’ and nesoi ‘islands’ because of the dark skin of its inhabitants. In the early 21st century the population of Melanesia was approximately 10 million.

Where is Melanesia and Polynesia?

Melanesia includes the islands from Papua New Guinea to Fiji. Micronesia includes small islands located north of Melanesia. Polynesia includes island groups from the Hawaiian Islands to the Pitcairn Islands.

Is Melanesia a Philippines?

The culture of the Philippines reflects the country’s complex history. It is a blend of the Malayo-Polynesian and Hispanic cultures, with influence from Chinese. The Philippines was first settled by Melanesians; today they preserve a very traditional way of life and culture, although their numbers are few.

Is Tonga A Melanesia?

Melanesia (UK: /ˌmɛləˈniːziə/, US: /ˌmɛləˈniːʒə/) is a subregion of Oceania in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It extends from the island of New Guinea in the west to Tonga in the east, and includes the Arafura Sea.

What is the capital of Melanesia?

The archipelago has a population of 642,000 (in 2015), capital and largest city is Honiara on Guadalcanal Island.

What religion is Melanesia?

Christianity has spread throughout Melanesia. Missionaries are very active in this region. Native religions are still practiced by many groups, although in modified form. In many societies in the Sepik River region of Papua New Guinea, the original belief systems included aspects of headhunting and cannibalism.

What are the 5 Pacific Islands?

They are the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna.

Is New Zealand a Melanesian?

Oceania has traditionally been divided into four parts: Australasia (Australia and New Zealand), Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

What country is Vanuatu in?

Vanuatu, country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, consisting of a chain of 13 principal and many smaller islands located about 500 miles (800 km) west of Fiji and 1,100 miles (1,770 km) east of Australia.

What is the largest city in Melanesia?

While the FSM’s total land area is quite small, it occupies more than 2,600,000 km 2 (1,003,866 sq mi) of the Pacific Ocean, giving the country the 14th-largest exclusive economic zone in the world. The sovereign island nation’s capital is Palikir, located on Pohnpei Island, while the largest city is Weno, located in the Chuuk Atoll .

What is the largest country in Melanesia?

What is the largest country in Melanesia in terms of territorial size. New Guinea. Which pacific region includes the island of New Guinea? Melanesia. Where is the largest cluster of population in Melanesia found? Papua New Guinea. Which of the following is true of the people of new guinea.

What islands are located in Melanesia?


  • New Caledonia.
  • Papua New Guinea.
  • Solomon Islands.
  • Vanuatu.
  • What is the largest island of Melanesia?


  • New Caledonia (French Dependency)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • West Papua and Makulu Islands (Part of Indonesia)
  • Solomon Islands
  • Torres Strait Islands (Part of Australia)
  • Vanuatu Contents: Geography And Climate Historical Overview Sea Life And Diet Social Class Gender Norms Pre-Colonialist Culture Western Colonialism Contemporary Melanesia