What animals are included in Gymnophiona?

What animals are included in Gymnophiona?

Living amphibians are represented by three clades: Gymnophiona (caecilians), Caudata (salamanders), and Anura (frogs) (Table 1.1).

How many types of caecilians are there?

Caecilians/Lower classifications

Which one is an example of Apoda?

Caecilians (Gymnophiona; Apoda, stem-based name) are amphibians that look like earthworms. They have blunt, bullet-shaped heads, cylindrical, limbless bodies, and short tails.

How many species of Anura are there?

Anuran diversity is greatest in the tropics. Twenty-five families are currently recognized, representing more than 4,000 species, with more being discovered regularly.

How many Gymnophiona species are there?

The most recent classification of caecilians, by Wilkinson et al. (2011), divided the caecilians into 9 families containing nearly 200 species. Since then, a tenth caecilian family has been discovered, Chikilidae….Apoda.

Chikilidae Chikila
Herpelidae Herpele Boulengerula

Do caecilian have jaws?

Caecilians (Lissamphibia: Gymnophiona) are unique among vertebrates in having two sets of jaw-closing muscles, one on either side of the jaw joint. The maximal gape of caecilians is restricted by a critical gape angle above which the mm. levatores mandibulae will open the jaw and destabilize the mandibular joint.

What is the biggest caecilian?

Caecilia thompsoni
The largest caecilian is Caecilia thompsoni, which reaches 151.5 cm; the smallest is Grandisonia brevis at 11.2 cm but a female of Idiocranium russeli was gravid at 0.90 cm.

Is Apoda an amphibian?

Clades of Amphibians. Amphibia comprises an estimated 6,770 extant species that inhabit tropical and temperate regions around the world. Amphibians can be divided into three clades: Urodela (“tailed-ones”), the salamanders; Anura (“tail-less ones”), the frogs; and Apoda (“legless ones”), the caecilians.

What is Apoda in zoology?

Apoda (Gymnophiona, caecilians; class Amphibia) An extant order of amphibians, now confined to the tropics and subtropics, that have become adapted to a burrowing life and look like large earthworms.

What are 5 types of amphibians?

Amphibians are a class of cold-blooded vertebrates made up of frogs, toads, salamanders, newts, and caecilians (wormlike animals with poorly developed eyes).

How many amphibians exist?

More than 6,000 amphibian species exist worldwide, with approximately 300 of them found in the United States.

What is the scientific name for Gymnophiona?

Gymnophiona. Gymnophiona, also called Apoda, one of the three major extant orders of the class Amphibia. Its members are known as caecilians, a name derived from the Latin word caecus, meaning “sightless” or “blind.” The majority of this group of limbless, wormlike amphibians live underground in humid tropical regions throughout the world.

What are the Urodela and the Gymnophiona?

Urodela and the Gymnophiona are members of the vertebrate subclass Lissamphibia (class Amphibia ). Both Urodela and the Gymnophiona are derived from the Greek words, which mean tail. Reproduction in these groups is timed by environmental factors operating through the central nervous system and the hypothalamus-pituitary-gonadal (HPG) axis.

What is the scientific name for amphibians?

Limbless Amphibians ( Frank and Ramus, 1995, Compl. Guide Scient. Common Names Amph. Rept. World: 23). Pantropical, except for Oceania and Australia. The most comprehensive revision of caecilians was by Taylor, 1968, Caecilians of the World, although that work is now very out-dated.

How many species of amphibians are there in the world?

Pyron, A.A. & Wiens, J.J. 2011. A large-scale phylogeny of Amphibia including over 2,800 species, and a revised classification of extant frogs, salamanders, and caecilians. Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution 61 (2): 543–583.